Winners of the 2019 As We Are Art Award


Winners of the 2019 As We Are Art Award were recently announced at the exhibition opening.  For those that missed the opening night here they are:


Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Award: Greg Barr, ‘Adam Goodes’, acrylic on canvas paper, 42 x 30cm

Contemporary Art Award: Martin Cahill, ‘Lady’, acrylic on paper, 52 x 80cm

David Guhl Award for Artistic Excellence:  Anna Marmura, ‘Kwitnace Wisnie (Cherry Blossom)’, acrylic paint, watercolour, 42 x 52cm

People’s Choice Award: Rian Hronksy, ‘My Pet Fish: Sparticus, Flash and Sushi’, mixed media, 76 x 100 cm

Regional Art Award: Brett Dusting, ‘Untitled’, mixed media, 34 x 42cm

Rosalind Lewis Award: David Guhl, ‘Wildflower Study’, acrylic on canvas, 54 x 54cm

Stephen Delower Memorial 3D Award: Ashley Odgers, ‘Super Human Monster’, soft sculpture, cotton and thread, 40 x 70 x 15 cm


Our judges also awarded ten Certificates of High Commendation to (in no particular order):

  • Shane Allen, ‘Sun Moon’, acrylic on canvas, 30 x 40cm
  • Serena Brown, ‘Untitled’, crayon and markers, 29 x 42cm
  • Clive Collender, ‘Animal Museum’, ink and pencil, 37 x 40cm
  • Mason Levy, ‘Face (Distorted) Beauty’, clay and wood, 25 x 50 x 25cm
  • Graham McGee, ‘Three Ducks’, clay terracotta, 30 x 30 x 30cm
  • Margaret Reiman, ‘Everyone’s a Queen’, pen and watercolour, 34 x 34cm
  • Jane Ryan, ‘A Forest’, acrylic on canvas, 43 x 32cm
  • John Verjans, ‘Colourful Mountain’, acrylic on canvas, 76 x 91cm
  • Amanda White, ‘Kambarand (Noongar Season)’, acrylic, 100 x 76 cm
  • Erica Wise, ‘Good Dog’, watercolour and pen, 28 x 36cm

Image: Martin Cahill, ‘Lady’, acrylic on paper, 52 x 80cm (photo: Susie Waller)