Award Winners of the 2018 As We Are Art Award

Winners of the 2018 As We Are Art Award were recently announced at the exhibition opening.  For those that missed the opening night here they are:

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Award: Greg Barr, ‘The Plane One’, acrylic on canvas, 76 x 76 cm

Contemporary Art Award: Jill Wright, ‘Hidden Waterfall’, acrylic, 30 x 40 cm

David Guhl Award for Artistic Excellence: Phillip Ukich, ‘Eye of the Storm’, acrylic, 45 x 45 cm

People’s Choice Award: Lindy Johnson, ‘Emu (Take Me Home)’, acrylic, 40 x 50cm

Regional Art Award: Harrison Crawford, ‘Modern Patterns’, watercolour and acrylic, 30 x 40cm

Rosalind Lewis Award: Brendan Morris, ‘Rise’, chalk pastel, 67 x 97cm

Stephen Delower Memorial 3D Award: Belinda Brenzi, ‘Sensory Apron’, textile, 80 x 60cm


Our judges also awarded ten Certificates of High Commendation to (in no particular order):

  • Anthony Stanisheff, ‘Elizabeth Taylor, chalk pastel on paper, 45 x 65cm
  • Michael Barker, ‘Self Portrait’, crayon on paper, 50 x 40cm
  • Tim Maley, ‘Forest Fox’, pencil on watercolour paper, 38 x 37cm
  • Amanda White, ‘Creatures by the Sea’, crayon on paper, 90 x 60cm
  • Kimberley John Smyth, ‘Spring Has Sprung’, watercolour, 30 x 43cm
  • Fiona Di Pietro, ‘Trees in Autumn’, acrylic, 50 x 60cm
  • Margaret Riemann, ‘High Tea’, pen and coloured pencil, 62 x 45cm
  • Steven Pratt, ‘Untitled’, acrylic on canvas, 30 x 30cm
  • Hannah Valenti, ‘Dappled Elephant’, watercolour on board, 25 x 25 cm
  • Maria Lombardo, ‘Tulips’, chalk, 67 x 97cm

Above:  Lindy Johnson, ‘Emu (Take Me Home)’, acrylic, 40 x 50cm (photo: Susie Waller)